Biomass Conversion (V)

Thursday, June 9, 2011: 1:30 PM-5:20 PM
Columbus Ballroom (Detroit Marriott Hotel at the Renaissance Center )
Levi T. Thompson
Dennis Miller and Michael S. Wong
1:30 PM
Hydrothermal Catalytic Production of Liquid Fuels from Algae
Phillip E. Savage, University of Michigan; Peigao Duan, University of Michigan
1:50 PM
Catalytic Gasification of Biomass for Syngas Generation
Singfoong Cheah, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; Katherine Gaston, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
2:10 PM
Integrated biomass gasification and CO2 Capture using Chemical-Looping Combustion
Mohammad M. Hossain, King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals; Mohammad R. Quddus, The University of Westrn Ontario; Hugo I. de Lasa, The University of Western Ontario
2:30 PM
Conversion of Cellulose by Carbon and Metal Catalysts
Atsushi Fukuoka, Hokkaido University; Hirokazu Kobayashi, Hokkaido University
2:50 PM
Catalytic conversion of anisole and 4-methylanisole: kinetics and reaction networks
Ron C. Runnebaum, University of California; Tarit Nimmanwudipong, University of California; David E. Block, University of California; Bruce C. Gates, University of California-Davis
3:10 PM
3:40 PM
Aqueous-Phase Hydrogenation of Acetic Acid on Monometallic Catalysts A Combined Experimental and Theoretical Study
Hakan Olcay, University of Massachusetts; Lijun Xu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Ye Xu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; George W. Huber, University of Massachusetts
4:00 PM
Hydrotreating of sunflower oil using supported molybdenum carbide
Leandro A. Sousa, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro; Victor Teixeira da Silva, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
4:20 PM
Alumina-Supported Catalysts in Aqueous Media: Structural Transformations and Surface Interactions
Ryan Ravenelle, Georgia Institute of Technology; John R. Copeland, Georgia Institute of Technology; Carsten Sievers, Georgia Institute of Technology
4:40 PM
5:00 PM
Active Site Determination of Copper Chromite in C-O Hydrogenolysis of Furfural Derivative
Keenan L. Deutsch, Iowa State University; Brent H. Shanks, Iowa State University